24 06 13 Solem Quartet Faraz Eshghi image - Khosro Vahabi

Solem Quartet and Faraz Eshghi


Standard: £16.00
Concession: £12.80

Booking fee applies

Bushra El-Turk Rostan تسُر (to grow), Rastan نتسَر (to be freed), Rast-kara ىراگ +تسر (redemption)
Bartók Quartet No. 6, BB. 119
Beethoven Quartet No. 16 in F major, Op. 135
Faraz Eshghi kamancheh
Solem Quartet:
Zahra Benyounes violin
William Newell violin
Stephen Upshaw viola
Stephanie Tress cello

Beethoven Bartók Now: Courage features new work from British-Lebanese composer Bushra El-Turk, composed for string quartet and kamancheh, alongside great works of the past.

Bartók sixth and final quartet was written in 1939, at a time when the composer was watching Europe collapse with the unfolding catastrophe of World War II. Each movement begins with a theme marked 'Mesto' (sad) and this theme’s first utterance notably ends with three notes directly quoted from Beethoven’s final quartet, op. 135, under which Beethoven wrote “Muss es sein?” (Must it be?). Yet despite this sadness, within both works are moments of profound hope.

Bushra El-Turk’s Rostan, Rastan and Rast-Kara is inspired by the ongoing revolution in Iran and the place of women in its society. In this concert, the Solem Quartet expand to a quintet, with the addition of kamancheh player Faraz Eshghi, proving the ever-evolving nature of the string quartet, and the power of music to unite.

BBN: Courage is the sixth and final part of the Solem Quartet’s Beethoven Bartók Now series, which brings together the late quartets of Beethoven and the quartets of Bartók, uniquely reimagined with music from composers of today.


A booking fee of 8% will apply to purchases made by telephone or online.

This performances is not likely to be suitable for children under 5 due to the acoustics in the auditorium. Children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult.