Riot Ensemble by Justyna Skwierawska

Riot Ensemble: Dark Horsemen and Other Tales

New Music

FREE, booking required

Book tickets
Philip Cashian The Dark Horsemen and other Tales
Joe Caulton New Work
Rachael Gibson New Work
Liza Lim Cello Playing as Meteorology
Matt Fairclough New Work
Richard Craig flute
Pétur Jónasson guitar
Craig Apps percussion
Stephen Upshaw viola
Sarah Dacey soprano
Louise McMonagle cello

Ensemble-in-residence Riot Ensemble present brand-new works by University of Liverpool staff and researchers alongside Philip Cashian’s folk tales (told by the ensemble’s soprano Sarah Dacey) and a meteorologically themed cello solo by Liza Lim (performed by the ensemble’s cellist Louise McMonagle).

Come and experience the latest in both homegrown and international composition, performed by “the supergroup of top soloists playing new music” (The Guardian).

Part of Musical Futures, an annual series of concerts and events that explore the future of music-making, digital creativity, and new ways to perform, experience and interact with music.


This performances is not likely to be suitable for children under 5 due to the acoustics in the auditorium. Children under 10 are not permitted on balcony seats. Children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult.

The concert will last approximately an hour and not include an interval.