Black and white photo of Sergei Taneyev

Lunchtime Concert: Pixels Ensemble

Sergei Taneyev Piano Quintet in G minor, Op. 30
Sophie Rosa, violin
Thelma Handy violin
Vicci Wardman viola
Jonathan Aasgaard cello
Ian Buckle piano

The music of Sergei Taneyev has been long overshadowed by the popularity of his contemporaries Mussorgsky, Rimsky- Korsakov and Glazunov. He was sometimes called ‘the Russian Brahms’, especially for the rich lyricism of his chamber music. The G minor Piano Quintet is his masterpiece - an epic tale, superbly crafted on a symphonic scale.

Tickets: Free