Nabihah Iqbal

Manchester Collective: SERENITY 2.0


PWYF High: £20.00
PWYF Low: £15.00

Booking fee applies

Book tickets
Bryce Dessner Aheym
Nabihah Iqbal What Psyche Felt
Sebastian Gainsborough Squint
Ben Nobuto SERENITY 2.0
Dobrinka Tabakova Insight
Eric Prydz arr. Ben Nobuto Opus
Rakhi Singh violin
Alex Mitchell viola
Nick Trygstad cello
Beibei Wang percussion

A nervous system reset.

One minute, the sound vibrates through you, your hairs pulled on end. The next: a blissful calm descends. There’s furious amplified sound and then mysterious, holy light to slow the pulse back down...Ever felt overstimulated by your phone screen? Ben Nobuto’s SERENITY 2.0 is a glitched-out collage of frenzied strings, percussion and samples. It cycles restlessly through Japanese pop, news anchors and vocal-fried YouTubers – but the calm after the doomscrolling is worth the ride.

Musician and DJ Nabihah Iqbal has a similarly eclectic approach to art and music. Her work takes her everywhere, from Boiler Room raves to the Turner Prize. What Psyche Felt, Nabihah’s first classical commission for string quartet and electronics, will be given its world premiere by the Collective. The finale? Eric Prydz’s colossal house anthem Opus, reimagined.

What Psyche Felt is commissioned by Manchester Collective with support from their Commissioning Club.


Tickets: Pay What You Feel £20 or £15 + booking fee.
A booking fee of 8% will apply to purchases made by telephone or online.

This performances is not likely to be suitable for children under 5 due to the acoustics in the auditorium. Children under 10 are not permitted on balcony seats. Children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult.

This concert will last approximately 70 minutes plus interval.