23 10 25 Jane Chapman

Inaugural Rushworth Hollick Harpsichord Recital


FREE, booking required

Jane Chapman harpsichord

This is the inaugural recital for the University of Liverpool’s Jonathan Rushworth Hollick Harpsichord. This double manual instrument, built in the late 20th century by Douglas Hollick, was based on the 1769 Taskin double in the Russell Collection at the University of Edinburgh. The stringing wire was drawn in the same way as the historical wire would have been, with the metallurgy researched from remains of wire from the 18th century.

In this performance, celebrated British harpsichordist Jane Chapman explores the rich and varied world of the harpsichord spanning over four centuries including Byrd, Bach, Couperin, Elisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre, Prokofiev, Mike Vaughan and Hindustani Airs from the Oriental Miscellany published in 1789.

Part of the Lunchtime Concert Series


This concert will last approximately 50 minutes