23 12 10 Elias String Quartet Photo by Kaupo Kikkas

Elias Quartet with Jonathan Biss


Standard: £29.00

Booking fee applies

Book tickets
Fanny Mendelssohn String Quartet in E flat
Pēteris Vasks String Quartet No. 3
Elgar Piano Quintet (with Jonathan Biss)

The Royal Northern College of Music’s Ensemble-in-Residence, the Elias String Quartet, perform works by Fanny Mendelssohn and Pēteris Vasks, before uniting with acclaimed pianist, Jonathan Biss, to perform Elgar’s daring Piano Quintet.

Vasks’ quartet uses themes from a well-known Christmas carol. The Elgar Quintet was composed in the peaceful surroundings of a Sussex summer. Fanny Mendelssohn’s Quartet is an extraordinary, rhapsodic work and one of the first surviving string quartets written by a woman.


A booking fee of 8% will apply to purchases made by telephone or online.

Part of Liverpool Philharmonic Chamber Series, supported by Rodewald Concert Society